Posted in audiobook, Book Reviews

Wax and Wayne Series by Brandon Sanderson – GraphicAudio Review

After Mistborn, it was a no-brainer that I listen to Era 2. Especially since I experienced the awe-inspiring awesomeness of the GraphicAudio adaptation of the series. My, was I slayed.

A lot of voice actors return to this second series but Wax, Steris and Marasi are voiced by new people. First of all, the thing that was most important to me was that Wayne be as loopy and as wonderful in voice as he was in print. Second most important thing was that Wax sound as Wax-like as possible, commanding and mature. And third, that Wax and Wayne’s chemistry be as delicious as it was in the books.

The GraphicAudio scored full marks on all these things. Wax’s voice? YUMM. Wayne’s voice: appropriately crazy. The banter between the two: LIFE.
It tickled me senseless when I heard Wayne’s voice for the first time. That dude was Elend Rusting Venture in Mistborn for the love of God! All serious and kingly and boring. I couldn’t possibly have appreciated how talented this voice actor truly is had he not played Wayne. My beard, he did such amazing impressions! Deep voices and accents! Wayne’s original accent as heard in GraphicAudio is Irish, if I’m not mistaken and I was instantly impressed.

I also just found out that the dude who plays Sazed/Harmony is KOREAN AMERICAN?! I saw a video and he began with Korean? And that’s so insanely awesome and cool but also blew my mind so hard I had to take a moment to digest it? I spent the past two months with this idea in my head of what he would look like and that shattered in a second. This is exactly why they should have profiles on voice actors with the audiobooks. I can’t find most of them and it’s so annoying!
When I was listening to The Lies of Locke Lamora, to me, the narrator sounded like he was in his late thirties, early forties. I was told that he was an old dude and that change in perception upsets you for a bit, you know?

The Mistborn theme and various other themes were the same as the original trilogy, there might have been some new ones, I’m not a hundred percent sure. I was bummed, though, because there wasn’t enough of Sazed’s theme in these three audio books. It was placed near the end of Shadows of Self only and man, I was so disapponted. I had been waiting and waiting for this to pop up. I freaking loved that theme!

I love the renditions of Wax I’ve seen on book covers and a few illustrations so far. I’d like to discuss them:

Image result for wax and wayne series covers

Wax: 10/10
Wayne: Nope

Image result for wax and wayne series covers

Wax: 6/10 (He looks like Wolverine and I don’t like the white in his side-beard thingy)
Wayne: 10/10 (That’s him!)

Image result for wax and wayne series covers

I’m assuming this is the two of them. Wax is perfect and I can’t see Wayne’s face clearly to judge.

Image result for wax and wayne illustrations mistborn

10/10 FOR BOTH OF THEM ASDFGHJKL;

Image result for wax and wayne illustrations mistborn

Oooooh this is perfect! Although Wayne doesn’t look 30, but they’re both really close to how I imagined them.

Image result for wax and wayne illustrations mistborn

A bit garrish but also really good.

I can’t think of an actor who can play Wax, I’d just like for someone who looks as close to the Wax in the first image to play him. But for Wayne, oh I have someone in mind. The Irish accent of the voice actor gave me the idea…

Related image

THIS GUY!

Look at him! He’s got all the traits that Wayne has! He’s eccentric, crazy and a genius! I have visual proof:

Image result for robert sheehan gifs

To sum it up: GraphicAudio is an awesome experience and Mistborn is phenomenal, the two of them combined is everything you need in your life. Basically. You’re welcome.

(I took each of these from Google Images, I don’t take credit for any of the art)

Leave a comment