Posted in Uncategorized

A Sorcery of Thorns – Audiobook Review

One of my favorite standalones from last year, A Sorcery of Thorns was magical, captivating and brilliant. It was a pleasure revisiting the story. I wish we could get more books like it.

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/1cW8QpD1WkE/maxresdefault.jpg

It has one of THE most beautifully illustrated covers I’ve ever seen. While the concept of demons summoned from other dimensions isn’t new, I loved how it was written, nonetheless.

Even more fascinating were the Great Libraries, with ancient and new texts divided into classes depending on how dangerous they were. I’ve found that books about books tend to either be awfully poetic (Strange the Dreamer, this series is my horcrux, make no mistake) or awfully pretentious (The Starless Sea, God only knows what was happening in that book). A Sorcery of Thorns was devoid of both. It took a normal and casual approach which was refreshing.

I count Silas and Nathaniel’s bond in my ultimate FEELS list. HOW ADORABLE WERE THEY?

https://instagram.flhe4-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t51.2885-15/e35/61404041_323914448533226_4517710811985972713_n.jpg?_nc_ht=instagram.flhe4-1.fna.fbcdn.net&_nc_cat=102&_nc_ohc=w5fr2D7dEDgAX8l9RsC&_nc_tp=18&oh=116a292fe02c53583d294c3d82118dda&oe=5F916409

The audiobook was narrated by Emily Ellet. I think it’s stupid at this point to say that her voice was amazing, because let’s face it, narrators narrate because they have a great voice.

Her male impressions were funny, though. Nathaniel in particular, sounded part-arrogant, part-drunk. That’s the way she does male voices, I guess, instead of deepening her voice like other female actors do. I haven’t listened to any female voice actor as fricking fantastic at doing male voices as the lady who voiced Lilah from Shades of Magic.

It was a solid 9/10.

Leave a comment