Posted in Bookish Balderdash, tags

The Netflix Book Tag

Hello! I googled/youtubed book tags again and picked this one. Here’s to hoping I finish this in ten minutes. LOL.

1. Recently Watched: The last book you finished reading.

Image result for the evil queen gena showalter

As it so happens, I have yet to review this book. I literally just finished it yesterday. My feelings are mixed. While it’s undoubtedly the most unique retelling of Snow White, it’s also the most weird. And I mean WEIRD. In the weirdest way possible.

2. Top Picks: A book/books that have been recommended to you based on books you have previously read.

Image result for lockwood and co

An instagram friend has been vehemently recommending this series to all of her followers including me. She’s almost as vehement as me recommending The Lies of Locke Lamora. Almost.

3. Recently Added: The last book you bought

Image result for superman matt de la pena

It was interesting, sure, and at the time I thought it was the best of the four DC icons books. Now, however, I believe it was as okay as all of them were. None of these books was super great, you know, but they were nice reads. The one I least liked was Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu.

4. Popular on Netflix: Books that everyone knows about. (2 you’ve read and 2 you haven’t read or have no interest in reading)

The two I haven’t read/have no interest in reading:

Image result for a court of thorns and rosesImage result for city of bones

The two I have read:

Image result for percy jackson book 1 Image result for hunger games book

This reminds me I need to reread the Hunger Games.

5. Comedies: A funny book

Image result for the school for good and evil

The first in a series is always the best. It cracked me up constantly and it was jolly good fun reading it. Sophie and Agatha bumble and stumble their way through their first year at the school for good and evil and their antics were hysterical.

6. Dramas: A character who is a drama queen/king

Image result for howl's moving castle book

I’m choosing to interpret this positively. Howl Pendragon, the great and renowned Royal Wizard, and owner of the Mighty Moving Castle, is a Drama Queen of Grade A+. He is a sassy, tantrum-throwing ass and one of my most beloved fictional characters.

7. Animated: A book with cartoons on the cover

Image result for wires and nerve

Does this count?

8. Watch it again: A book/book series that you want to re-read

Image result for septimus heap series

I would very much like to reread this cute series. The last two are novellas. Actual books are the first seven. This series is recommended for ‘people who want to read something similar to Harry Potter.’ It has a couple of similarities, there is magic, there is a large brood, that of the Heaps who have ancient magical heritage and there is a green-eyed twelve year old boy who learns he is a powerful wizard.

9. Documentaries: A non-fiction book you’d recommend to everyone

Image result for pacific rim book cover

This is what I could think of at the moment. I don’t read a lot of non-fiction. Actually, I don’t read non-fiction at all. I might have in the past but I don’t remember it besides this one. I am a HUGE fan of this film. I’ve read the novelization and I’ve read this book too. Guillermo del Toro, bless the man, is a genius and his work just pulls you in. The details that went into the film are crazy.

10. Action and Adventure: An action packed book

Image result for mistborn

You’ll get a lifetime worth of action, adventure, gloom and heartbreak. This series is fricking magnificent and deserves all the love it can get.

11. New Releases: A book that just came out or will be coming out soon that you can’t wait to read.

Image result for the guinevere deception

Okay, this one has me super excited! I want to read an Arthurian retelling told by someone other than Soman Chainai. The other one I read recently Once and Future wasn’t stellar material either. Also, I appreciate beauty. Look at that cover.

12. Max: Tag some people

If you’re seeing this, you’re tagged. Please do it, I would love to read your version.

Netflix And Chill GIF

Leave a comment