Posted in Anime, TV Shows

Death Note – Let the Carnage Begin

I’ll be honest with ya. It was the trailer for the upcoming Netflix film that spurred me on, otherwise it would’ve stayed on my radar forever. Years ago, my brother told me about this anime show that he was watching about a guy who comes across a notebook that lets him kill whichever person’s name he writes on it. That’s all I knew and even though I wanted to watch the show it just never seemed like the right time. Until now.

I saw a clip from the film yesterday in which Light (really stupid name) meets Ryuk for the first time and I saw the first episode of the anime today. Since I already knew the most important thing of all, the rest didn’t impress me much. There is other stuff but I found the first episode to be a little, um, shall we say, plain?

I know nothing about the changes they’ve made to the film from the original and I don’t want to know. The only thing I do know is that they could NOT have picked a better or more fitting person to play Ryuk than Willem Dafoe. This guy does creepy like you wouldn’t believe! If you’ve watched the very first Spider-Man you will know.

At this point in the story nothing is a spoiler so here’s a recap of the episode titled “Shinsei” (ζ–°η”Ÿ) or “Rebirth”:

Light Yagami is a bright (I am too good) high school student who gets straight A’s in class. He is bored of the mundanity of his life and so one day he’s staring out of the window during class to the background of his teacher’s droning when he witnesses a book falling from the sky. He checks it out after class and the claim of the notebook is almost absurd enough for him to walk away. Almost.

The notebook has very specific instructions.

Seduced by curiosity, Light decides to confirm the hoax, only it isn’t a hoax and the criminal whose name he writes to test the notebook’s validity turns up dead. Believing it to be a coincidence, he writes again and realizes the enormity of his possession. That’s where we meet Ryuk, aΒ shinigami or the god of death. (The dude is horrifying and creepy AF with that ghastly smile permanently fixed on his face. Like the joker, only a thousand times worse)

He and other shinigami live in another dimension apparently and he throws out the notebook into the human world out of boredom. Yup, everybody was bored, me included. The demon, that’s what I would call him, informs Light of some further rules:

How cheerful. Of course this doesn’t faze Light even though he is warned of the trauma this would induce. Instead, the episode ends with Light exclaiming in all his anime passion that he would rid the world of vermin and become humanity’s savior.

Hello? Are you just bored or completely insane? Cause that escalated quickly.
This was the first episode and I definitely need to learn more about Light’s personality and life that would justify him having a superiority complex. Boredom alone doesn’t cut it.

What I would have done if I had found the Death Note:

Alarmingly, I would have done the first two things Light did:

  • I would have picked it up.
  • I would have checked.

A 1000 points to whoever guesses correctly what I would have written in the notebook. I’ll give you a hint: his favorite word is “stupid”.

If it had worked I would NOT have written another word, unlike Light, and would have thrown the notebook at the bottom of the ocean. Good riddance.
Then again, maybe it wouldn’t have worked. You see, the notebook clearly states that the one being entered must be ‘human’. Even though there are distant similarities, I think it would not have affected an ape.

So, yeah. I’m continuing on with this, there are only 37 episodes. But I wasn’t blown away by this one.

My Rating: 2.75/5

4 thoughts on “Death Note – Let the Carnage Begin

  1. Hopefully you enjoy your watch of the anime. The first half is pretty amazing. Second half is less so, but still pretty enjoyable but I’m not going to spoil anything for you if you haven’t already looked at what happens. Have fun.

    Like

  2. Cool. I skipped the synopsis because I like knowing nothing about anything beforehand (you have no idea. :p)
    Two things.
    1. A pilot is almost always bad.
    2. I don’t think Light is a bad name at all. It’s rather cool (and ironic).
    Willem Dafoe and creepy, YAS!
    I watched American Psycho recently and there was something off about the guy, I couldn’t put my finger on it but you say this and instant flashbacks zoom into his face, creepy, for real.
    Really liked the part where you tell what you’d have done with it. πŸ‘Œ
    I’d have kept it, just in case. :p
    To keep it safe from evil hands of course. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

